The 2014 GreenBiz corporate sustainability Twitterati Index

The 2014 GreenBiz corporate sustainability Twitterati Index

A year has flown by. It's time for our second annual GreenBiz Twitter Index, our exclusive ranking of which corporate sustainability execs have a strong voice on Twitter.

The GreenBiz Twitter Index is more than (yet) another list of sustainability execs with Twitter accounts. (Been there, done that.) Rather, we analyze Klout, Kred, and PeerIndex scores for more than 60 individuals to arrive at our own unique ranking based on audience, activity and authority. In general, the leaders on this list have built a strong following — with high-ranked followers — and tweet with some regularity. They've built authority in the real world, and leveraged it to gain more thought leadership via social media.

The good news in 2014 is that for all but a few members of the 2013 rankings, overall scores improved. For those whose scores rose the most, the primary factors for the gains were a combination of activity and engagement with other users. Which, of course, is what Twitter is all about.

Name Company Title Handle GreenBiz Index

Leaders

Dave Stangis Campbell's Soup Vice President, Public Affairs and Corporate Responsibility @DaveStangis 77
Niall Dunne BT Chief Sustainability Officer @bluNiall 75
John Friedman Sodexo Corporate Responsibility Communications Director @johnfriedman 74
Laura Clise Areva Director, External Communications and Corporate Citizenship @lauraclise 73
Neil Hawkins Dow Chemical Corporate Vice President, Sustainability @neilchawkins 71
Bruno Sarda Dell Director, Global Sustainability Operations @bruno68 68
Asheen Phansey Dassault Systèmes Manager, Sustainable Innovation Lab @asheen 67
Camille Aylmer Dupont Sustainability Communications Manager @CamilleBeGreen 66
Hannah Jones Nike Chief Sustainability Officer & VP of the Innovation Accelerator @hjones_nike 65
Andy Wales SABMiller SVP Sustainable Development @AndyCWales 65
Darren Beck Sprint Director Environmental Initiatives @DarrenBeck 65
Tim Mohin AMD Director of Corporate Responsibility @TimJMohin 64
Kate Heiny Target Senior Group Manager, Sustainability @kateheiny 62
Aida Greenbury Asia Pulp & Paper Managing Director of Sustainability @aidagreenbury 61
Bea Perez Coca-Cola Chief Sustainability Officer @BeaperezBea 58
Shannon Schuyler PwC Corporate Responsibility Leader @ShannonSchuyler 57
Mitch Jackson FedEx Vice President, Environmental Affairs & Sustainability @Mitch_Jackson 56
Lori Duvall EBay Director of Operational Sustainability @fiercefern 56
Niki (Kelley) King Campbell Senior Manager-CSR Program Office @n_kelley 56
Lauren Wylie Oliver Wyman Marketing Manager & Head of Internal Sustainability @laurenwylie 55
Kim Marotta MillerCoors Director Sustainability @KimMarotta 55
Trisa Thompson Dell Vice President, Corporate Responsibility @TrisaDellCRO 55

Learners

Keith Sutter Johnson & Johnson Sr. Product Director - Sustainable Brand Marketing @keithsutter 54
Jessica Hubbard Houghton Mifflin Director, Corporate Social Responsibility @JessSF 54
Jim Hanna Starbucks Director of Environmental Affairs @Jim_Starbucks 53
Tom Carpenter Waste Management Director, WM Sustainability Services @CarpenterWMSS 53
Lynelle Cameron Autodesk Senior Director, Sustainability and Philanthropy @lynellecameron 52
Frank O'Brien-Bernini Owens-Corning Chief Sustainability Officer @FOB_GreenTweets 51
Stephanie Rico Wells Fargo Vice President, Environmental Affairs @Steph_Rico 51
Ben Thompson Autodesk Sustainable Business Program Manager @bentup 51
Anisa Costa Tiffany's Vice President - Global Sustainability & Corporate Responsibility @anisanyc 50
Yalmaz Siddiqui Office Depot Senior Director, Environmental Strategy @yalmazsiddiqui 49
Ashley Nixon Shell NGO & Stakeholder Relations Manager, Americas @JAshleyNixon 49
Kathrin Winkler EMC Senior Vice President, Corporate Sustainability @KathrinRWinkler 49
Michael Kapalko SCA Sustainability Marketing Manager @mikekapalko 49
TJ DiCaprio Microsoft Sr. Director, Environmental Sustainability @tjdicaprio 49
Peggy Ward Kimberly Clark Sustainability Strategy Leader @PeggyatKC 48
Robert Beinstein CH2MHill Director, Sustainable Development Programs @bobbeinstein 47
Nicola Peill-Moetler Akamai Director of Environmental Sustainability @greenqween 47
Diane Holdorf Kellogg Chief Sustainability Officer, VP EHS @DianeBHoldorf 47
James Gowen Verizon Chief Sustainbility Officer and VP of Supply Chain Operations @JamesGowen 46
John Schulz AT&T AVP, Sustainability Operations @johnfschulz 46
Erin Decker SalesForce.com Sustainability Manager @erindecker 46
Melissa Gray Rackspace Corporate Social Responsibilty @GreenRacker 44
Josh Henretig Microsoft Director, Environmental Sustainability @jhenretig 44
Melissa Small EMD-Millipore-Merck Corporate Responsibility Programs Manager @msmall73 44

Lurkers

Christina Page Yahoo Global Director Energy & Sustainability Strategy @greenumerations 43
Wood Turner Stonyfield Farm VP Sustainability Innovation @doubleut 42
Bob Langert McDonald's VP, Corporate Social Responsibility @csrmcd 42
Tom Gosselin DNV Sustainability Director @TomAGosselinDNV 42
Eliza Clark Anderson Corporate Sustainability Manager @ElizaCClark 42
Jerry Lynch General Mills Chief Sustainability Officer @gmills_jerry 40
Tod Arbogast Avon Vice President, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility @Tod_Arbogast 39
Susan Rochford Legrand North America Vice President, Energy Efficiency, Sustainability & Public Policy @SusanRochford2 39
David Lear Dell Executive Director, Corporate Sustainability @learatdell 38
Holly Emerson Ingersoll Rand Senior Analyst, Center for Energy Efficiency and Sustainability @nchockeychick 37
Emily Hanning Outerwall Senior Sustainability Manager @emily_hanning 37
Jenny McColloch McDonald's Manager, Global CSR & Sustainability @jamccolloch 37
John Lovenburg BNSF Vice President, Environmental @jlovenbu 35
Amy Skoczlas Cole Pentair Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility @AmySkoczlas 35
David Tulauskas GM Director of Sustainability @DavidTulauskas 34
Andrew Pleper Bank of America Corporate Social Responsibility and Consumer Policy Executive @aplep 33
Rachel Romoff Rackspace Sustainability @rachelromoff 32
Emily McGarvey Target Sr Manager, Sustainability @emilyamcgarvey 14

Did we miss someone? Let us know in the comments below.(Keep in mind that this list is limited to corporate sustainability professionals.) And if you're looking to up your game on Twitter, check out this great piece by Andrea Learned.

Photocollage by GreenBiz Group.