Skip to main content

SC Johnson's Greenlist Program Earns Presidential Award for Green Chemistry

An environmental classification system designed to measure and track the performance of environmentally responsible products has been honored with the U.S. Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award.

Launched in 2001, SC Johnson's Greenlist program formalizes the classification of raw materials used in SC Johnson's products according to their impact on the environment and human health. To that end, Greenlist has helped SC Johnson continue to phase out certain raw materials, and use more materials considered to be environmentally "better" and "best."

For example, SC Johnson used Greenlist to reformulate Windex, the leading glass cleaner in the market. The company was able to replace a 0 rated solvent with a 3 rated solvent and unique cleaning ingredient system. This helped reduce volatile organic compounds (VOCs) in the Windex formula to less than four percent. At the same time, the cleaning power of Windex was boosted by 30%, making Windex best on glass and even better for the environment.

SC Johnson has shared its Greenlist process with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Environment Canada, the Chinese EPA, the U.K.'s Forum for the Future, the World Business Council on Sustainable Development, industry associations, universities, and other corporations, among and others. In addition, the company has partnered with suppliers to use insights from Greenlist to develop ingredients that are more environmentally sustainable.

Other industry winners of this year's Green Chemistry Challenge Awards include Merck & Co., Inc., Codexis, Inc., Arkon Consultants, NuPro Technologies, Inc., and Professor Galen J. Suppes - University of Missouri-Columbia. More information about all award recipients is available online.

Established in 1996 by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards recognize innovative chemical technologies that reduce pollution and improve the environment. Entries for the 2006 awards were judged by an independent panel of technical experts convened by the American Chemical Society.

More on this topic