GreenBiz Executive Editor Joel Makower to enter ISSP Hall of Fame

GreenBiz Executive Editor Joel Makower to enter ISSP Hall of Fame

Joel Makower at GreenBiz Forum 2014

GreenBiz Chairman and Executive Editor Joel Makower was named to the ISSP's Sustainability Hall of Fame on Monday. 

The International Society of Sustainability Professionals recognizes honorees based on their "experience, education, innovation, reach, publication and service to the industry." ISSP is a membership association "committed to moving the profession of sustainability forward through building strong networks and communities of practice."

Three other sustainability leaders are being inducted this year: Susan Burns, CEO of the Global Footprint Network; Jeffrey Hollender, co-founder of Seventh Generation; and Mathis Wackernagel, president of the Global Footprint Network.

"All of the finalists are certainly giants in the field of sustainability, whose shoulders we all stand on as a profession," said Marsha Willard, ISSP board member and founder. “It honors those that have given their time, their knowledge, their creativity and their hard work to blazing the trail for other professionals to follow.”

The ISSP invites all of its 600 members to name nominees each year before making a final vote. 

"ISSP has played an important role in creating a community of practice among sustainability consultants and other professionals," said Makower. "I am honored and humbled to join the impressive list of previous winners, many of whom are my mentors, heroes and friends."

Makower launched in 2000 and co-founded (with Pete May) GreenBiz Group in 2006. Previously, Makower was editor of The Green Business Letter, an award-winning monthly newsletter on corporate environmental practices, which he launched in 1991.

ISSP launched its Hall of Fame in 2011 with inaugural honorees Ray Anderson, the late founder of Interface; Gil Friend, president and CEO of Natural Logic; Karl Henrik Robert, Swedish cancer researcher; and Bob Willard, author.

Other current members of the Sustainability Hall of Fame include Alan AtKisson, president and CEO of the AtKisson Group; John Elkington, executive chairman of Volans; Hazel Henderson, founder of Ethical Markets Media; Amory Lovins, chairman of the Rocky Mountain Institute; and L. Hunter Lovins, president and founder of Natural Capitalism Solutions.

Makower and the other 2014 honorees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame during a ceremony at ISSP's conference Nov. 12-14 in Denver, Colo.

Top image of Joel Makower at the GreenBiz Forum 2014