Winners of the First 'BetterBricks' Awards Announced

Winners of the First 'BetterBricks' Awards Announced

Oregon nonprofit BetterBricks has named six commercial building professionals as the best champions of sustainable, high performance buildings in their field. The winners represented the fields of architecture, development, engineering, and consultants from Oregon and Southwest Washington.

“Unlike other awards, this program salutes the individuals behind a significant body of work, rather than one specific building,” said Dave Hewitt, BetterBricks manager.

The BetterBricks Awards give special recognition to individuals who have helped create buildings that use sustainable materials; save energy; reduce operation and maintenance costs; incorporate daylighting with electrical lighting; consider climate when designing ventilation, heating and cooling systems; and enhance the productivity of occupants.

Heinz Rudolf, AIA, principal of BOORA Architects, tied with Kent Duffy, AIA, Principal of SRG Partnership, for the BetterBricks architecture winners. Key projects for Rudolf include Clackamas High School, The Dalles Middle School, Ash Creek Intermediate School, and Silverthorne Elementary School in Dillon, Colo. Duffy’s projects include the Lillis Business Complex at the University of Oregon, Clean Water Services Administration Building, Southern Oregon University Library, and University of Puget Sound Science Center.

Dennis Wilde, senior project manager for Gerding/Edlen Development, won the developer award for his cost-effective, sustainable development projects for Wieden + Kennedy headquarters, the Brewery Blocks and the North Macadam projects now underway. Mike Hatten, PE, principal and owner for SOLARC of Eugene, won for his engineering contributions. He has involved the firm in more than 330 commercial/institutional energy efficiency projects such as the Lillis Business Complex at the University of Oregon, Lloyd Center Tower and the Sheldon Pool and Community Center in Eugene.

Alan Scott, director of consulting services for Green Building Services, captured the professional services prize for his nearly two dozen LEED projects, such as the Jean Vollum Natural Capital Center, Viridian Place and Balfour-Guthrie Building. Nathan Good, AIA, northwest coordinator of facility design services for CH2M Hill, won for his overall advocacy of sustainable, high performance buildings. Nathan was instrumental in introducing LEED to Oregon and Southwest Washington and turning Portland into a haven for green buildings.

Northwest ceramic artist Natalie Warrens created the award for this year’s six winners in the form of custom-designed 18-inch-tall sculptures. The colorful stacked forms for this year’s BetterBricks Awards remind some of a building structure, while others view the shape as a person. The ceramic pieces are also reminiscent of the building blocks in the BetterBricks logo.

BetterBricks recognized six finalists at the luncheon and presented them with framed certificates. Finalists were:
  • Rob Curry, AIA, Yost Grube Hall (Architecture)
  • John Echlin, AIA, SERA Architects (Architecture)
  • Douglas L. Obletz and D. Carter MacNichol Sockeye Development (Development)
  • James Benya, PE, Benya Lighting Design (Professional Services)
  • Greg Acker, City of Portland Office of Sustainable Development (Advocate)
  • Jerry Yudelson, PE, Interface Engineering (Advocate)
BetterBricks is an initiative of the Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance. Sponsors of the first annual BetterBricks Award were The Business Journal and the Energy Trust of Oregon.