Kodak, 3M Among 50 to Win EPA Nods for Energy Efficiency, GHG Reductions

Kodak, 3M Among 50 to Win EPA Nods for Energy Efficiency, GHG Reductions

Lowes Companies Inc., Food Lion, Pardee Homes, USAA Real Estate, and 3M are among 50 businesses and organizations to win U.S. EPA and Department of Energy recognition for outstanding contributions to reduce greenhouse gas emissions through energy efficiency.

Last year alone, EPA's Energy Star program helped Americans save enough energy to power 20 million homes, reducing greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to that of 20 million cars -- all while saving consumers $10 billion, according to government estimates. More than 360,000 new homes have earned the Energy Star rating, and more than 15,000 office buildings, schools, supermarkets and hotels have established benchmarks of their energy performance as a basis for future progress.

Energy Star was introduced by EPA in 1992 as a voluntary, market-based partnership to reduce air pollution through increased energy efficiency. Today, in partnership with the Department of Energy, the program offers businesses and consumers energy efficient solutions to save energy, money and help protect the environment for future generations. More than 7,000 organizations have become Energy Star partners and are committed to improving the energy efficiency of products, homes and businesses.

The Energy Star Award Winners and their categories are:

Sustained Excellence
  • 3M (St.Paul, Minn.)
  • Eastman Kodak Company (Rochester, N.Y.)
  • Ence Homes (St. George, Utah)
  • Food Lion, LLC (Salisbury, N.C.)
  • Nevada Energy Star Partners (Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • Pardee Homes (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • Servidyne Systems, LLC (Atlanta, Ga.)
  • USAA Real Estate Company (San Antonio, Texas)
Corporate Commitment
  • New York State Research and Development Authority
Excellence in Efficient Homes
  • Astoria Homes (Las Vegas, Nev.)
  • Cambridge Homes (Altamonte Springs, Fla.)
  • D.R. Horton Inc.- Sacramento Division (Forth Worth, Texas)
  • David Powers Homes (Houston, Texas)
  • Energy Sense (Houston, Texas)
  • Guaranteed Watt Saver Systems- West, Inc. (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
  • Veridian Homes (Madison, Wis.)
Excellence in Energy Management
  • Avista Advantage (Spokane, Wash.)
  • California Portland Company (Glendora, Calif.)
  • Colorado Springs School District 11 (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
  • Giant Eagle Inc. (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
  • Marriott International Inc. (Washington, D.C.)
  • New York-Presbyterian Hospital (New York, N.Y.)
  • NSTAR Electric (Boston, Mass.)
  • The Saunders Hotel Group (Boston, Mass.)
  • Toyota Motor Manufacturing North America Inc. (Erlanger, Ky.)
  • Transwestern Commercial Services (Houston, Texas)
Excellence in Efficient Products
  • Canon U.S.A. Inc. (Lake Success, N.Y.)
  • GE Consumer and Industrial (Louisville, Ky.)
  • Gorell Enterprises Inc. (Indiana, Pa.)
  • Lennox Industries Inc. (Richardson, Texas)
  • Lowe's Companies Inc. (Mooresville, N.C.)
  • Maytag Corp. (Newton, Iowa)
  • Panasonic (Secaucus, N.J.)
  • Sea Gull Lighting Products Inc. (Riverside, N.J.)
  • Sears, Roebuck and Co. (Hoffman Estates, Ill.)
  • SYLVANIA (Danvers, Mass.)
  • The Home Depot (Atlanta, Ga.)
  • Whirlpool Corp. (Benton Harbor, Mich.)
  • Wisconsin Focus on Energy (Madison, Wis.)
Excellence in Energy Efficiency and Environmental Education
  • Austin Energy (Austin, Texas)
  • Pacific Gas and Electric Company (San Francisco, Calif.)
  • San Diego Gas and Electric (San Diego, Calif.)
  • Southern California Edison (Rosemead, Calif.)
  • Southern California Gas Company (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  • CenterPoint Energy (Houston, Texas)
  • Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. and the Maryland Energy Administration (Annapolis, Md.)
  • MidAmerican Energy Company (Des Moines, Iowa)
  • Office of Clean Energy, New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (Newark, N.J.)
  • Northeast Energy Star Lighting and Appliance Initiative (Lexington, Mass.)
  • TXU Electric Delivery (Dallas, Texas)
  • Wisconsin Focus on Energy (Madison, Wis.)
The winners were recognized at an awards ceremony on March 15.