EPA Honors 2006 Leaders in Climate Protection

EPA Honors 2006 Leaders in Climate Protection

IBM, Johnson & Johnson, and Baxter International are among the 13 companies, organizations, and individuals from around the world that the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has recognized this year for outstanding efforts to protect the Earth's climate. The award recipients have demonstrated ingenuity, leadership, and public purpose by achieving reductions of ozone depleting and heat-trapping gas emissions, according to EPA.

Millions of tons of greenhouse gas emissions and ozone-depleting substances have been avoided due to the efforts of the award winners, EPA estimates. The winners have introduced new and improved technologies that reduce harmful emissions in refrigeration, liquid crystal displays (LCDs), and car air conditioning, improving the environmental performance of these industries well into the future.

EPA began the Climate Protection Awards in 1998 and has so far recognized 110 individuals and organizations from 16 countries.

The 2006 Climate Protection Award winners are:

  • Arizona Public Service Company
  • Baxter International Inc.
  • DENSO Corporation
  • IBM Corporation
  • Johnson & Johnson
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • The United States Air Force
  • Yokota Tohoku, Inc.
Organization & Association Awards
  • Mobile Air Conditioning Society Worldwide
  • Refrigerant Reclaim Australia
Individual Awards
  • Susan J. Brown
  • Gregory J. Nickels
  • Barry G. Rabe
Additional information on the EPA Climate Protection Awards and this year's winners is available online.